New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Circular ND + Square GND...or...Square ND and GND

Ming-Tzu
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Circular ND + Square GND...or...Square ND and GND

Currently have circular NDs and want to get the square Grad NDs. I also have a circular CPL.

To make the system more streamlined, I was thinking of replacing my circular NDs with square NDs so it can be more easily stacked with the square Grad NDs in the holder. But wondering how often people stack these two together, and what people use as far as circular vs. square NDs, especially when they also have the square GNDs.

Also, if I keep the circular NDs, I wonder how easy it is to stack these with the square GNDs in the holder.

I admit that I'm not an expert so wanted to ask everyone here.

May 19, 2017 at 06:59 PM
sjms
• • • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Circular ND + Square GND...or...Square ND and GND

How many filters do you think you're going to stack?

May 19, 2017 at 11:43 PM
Ming-Tzu
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Circular ND + Square GND...or...Square ND and GND

sjms wrote:
How many filters do you think you're going to stack?

I don't know. One ND and one GND?

May 19, 2017 at 11:48 PM
sjms
• • • • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Circular ND + Square GND...or...Square ND and GND

then there should be no problem

May 20, 2017 at 02:35 AM
jharter
• • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Circular ND + Square GND...or...Square ND and GND

Most square/rectangular filter holders have slots for two filters. So you would have no problem using an ND and a graduated ND. The downside relative to your circular ND is the possibility of light leaks around the filter which can degrade or ruin an image.